George Martin RIP

People often ask me what my favourite ever song is.

I can categorically put my hand on my heart and say it’s All You Need Is Love by The Beatles.

It was the first song I ever owned and I played it to death. I still have the single, or what’s left of it. It’s got everything this song; the weirdest time signature, Beatle playfulness, a great message, it’s happy and sad, has incredible bass playing, strings, McCartney singing She Loves You Yeah Yeah Yeah at the end, a bit of Glenn Miller and the best vocal anyone has ever committed to tape. George Martin, what a guy, I wish I knew one 10th of what he knew about music.

Leave a Reply

