Ten Cigarettes Later

Ten Cigarettes later
I was standing by the wall
Waiting there to see you
I was feeling rather tall

Ten Cigarettes later
I was looking at my watch
Wandering where you were
You’d probably missed the bus

Ten Cigarettes later
I was lighting up again
Below me a pile of dog ends
It was nearly ten to ten

Ten Cigarettes later
I thought I’d make the call
My aftershave was weary
My skin began to crawl

Ten Cigarettes later
I was propped against the wall
Waiting there to see you
I was feeling rather small

Chris Olley 95

Leave a Reply

